FIFA President Sepp Blatter To Resign In Wake Of Corruption Arrests

CBS Atlanta

Only days after being re-elected to a fifth term as President of FIFA, Sepp Blatter resigned on Tuesday. There was immense pressure on him to step aside because he failed to deal with the corruption in the organization that has led to the many indictments handed down by the U.S. in the last few weeks.

Blatter is 79 years old and a native of Switzerland.

Blatter’s statement reads as follows:

“I have been reflecting deeply about my presidency and about the 40 years in which my life has been inextricably bound to FIFA and the great sport of football. I cherish FIFA more than anything and I want to do only what is best for FIFA and for football. I felt compelled to stand for re-election, as I believed that this was the best thing for the organization. That election is over but FIFA’s challenges are not. FIFA needs a…

View original post 80 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

